Geography of Murmansk region

Murmansk Region is the subject of the Russian Federation formed on May 28, 1938 and located in the Northwest of the European part of Russia. Is a part of the Northwestern Federal District. The area of Murmansk region makes 144,9 thousand sq.km (0,86% of the area of Russia), population for January 1, 2013 – 780,4 thousand people, population density - 5,4 people on sq.km. Murmansk region belongs to the high-urbanized regions of Russia (the share of urban population – 92,7%). Indigenous small people of the North live here, the most numerous of which are Sami (according to the All-Russian population census of 2010 - 1,6 thousand people).

On the geographical position Murmansk Region is the unique region. It is located on Baltiysk crystal board in Northern Europe, on the Kola, Rybachiy and Sredniy peninsulas. In the West it shares borders with Norway and Finland, in the south shares borders with the Republic of Karelia and through the White Sea - with Arkhangelsk Region. It is washed by the White and Barents seas. Islands are a part of the region: Aynovskiy, Velikiy, Sem and Kildin.

Such geographical position is a real mineralogical treasury having no match on a variety of minerals and mineral resouces. More than 1000 minerals (1/3 of all known on the Earth) were found in its subsoil. More than 150 of them are not found anywhere else.

The main mineral resouces in the territory of the region is apatite (Hibinsky fields of apatite - nepheline ores). Apatites are valuable raw materials for phosphoric fertilizers, they were extracted on the territory of Murmansk Region since pre-war times, nepheline is used for production of alumina — raw materials for the aluminum industry, soda and cement production. Secondary, there are iron ores (about 10% of the Russian production) Kovdorsky field Apatite, zirconium ore (brazilite), mica-phlogopite and vermiculite (the largest world reserves) also is extracted on Olenegorsky and Kovdorsky fields. Besides nickel and copper, copper-nickel ores of Pechenegsky and Monchegorsky group of fields give to the country such metals as cobalt, platinum, osmium, iridium and many others. A unique Lovozersky field in its subsoil has the largest stocks of rare-earth metals in the country. Stocks of aluminum raw materials (cyanite schist in Keivy Ridge), grenade-almandin are almost unlimited. Also in Keivy Ridge has deposits of beryllium and lithium (almost 50% of the Russian stocks) ores, rare metals.  White mica, pegmatites production is conducted.

Fields of construction rocks, ornamental and semiprecious stones (amethyst, chrysolite, pomegranate, moonstone "moonstone", amazonite, eudialyte, etc.) are numerous in the region. Recently diamonds were found.

Climate in the southern part is moderately cold, in the northern — subarctic marine climate, softened with a warm North Atlantic current (northeast continuation of Gulf Stream), it allows to carry out navigation all the year round. In winter polar night, in summer — polar day are characteristic of the region. Average air temperature of the coldest months (January-February) makes from −8 degrees in the north of the region (influence of a warm current) to −12-15 degrees in the central regions. In summer, +8 degrees and +14 degrees, respectively. The minimum air temperatures make-35 degrees on the coast of the Barents Sea, -45 on Belomorsk coast and -55 in the central regions in winter. Summer maximum is equal to  +27, +32 and +33 degrees, respectively. Due to high humidity of air and strong winds even small frosts are transferred into extremely hard. Frosts are possible in any day of summer, in June snowfalls are frequent. On the sea coast and plateau strong winds (in rushes to 55-60 m/s) are frequent. Snow lies from the middle-end of October to the middle of May (in mountain areas since the end of September-beginning of October to the middle of June) on the average.

All territory of Murmansk Region belongs to the region of the Far North.

Far back in the past the Kola Peninsula was all covered with a glacier, then the glacier descended, leaving deep scratches on the earth, therefore in Murmansk Region a set of rivers (Varzuga, Umba, Niva, Voronya, Cola, Tuloma, the longest one — the river Ponoy) and lakes (Umbozero, Lovozero, the largest in the region— Imandra). There are also small rivers, for example Strelna. Stocks of waters are not limited by fresh internal reservoirs and seas, considerable stocks of water are located in underground layers. Here there are more than 110 thousand lakes with an area of more than 10 hectares and 18 209 rivers longer than 100 m.

Podsolic gley, podsolic illuvial and humic and tundra and gley soils prevail in the region, in the south of the region podsolic and marsh soils are met, and in the west of the region - marsh soils.

Almost all Murmansk Region is covered with tundra and forest-tundra, only in the south of the region — eith northern taiga. Trees in the north of the region are often dwarfish (birch and aspen),  fir-trees grows well, pines are met, the tundra is covered by mosses and lichens as a carpet, there are a lot of berries: bilberry, cloudberries, blueberry, cowberry and cranberry. Stocks of business wood are considerable, their size is superfluous for the region.

The fauna is quite poor, and water fauna is more various, than land. Foxes, martens, gluttons, ermines can be found, it is possible to meet a polar fox, a wolf and a brown bear, elks and reindeers are widespread, there is a lot of squirrels and lemmings.

It is possible to meet a white partridge, a polar owl, there are black grouses and wood-grouses, in the woods bullfinches, titmouses, sviristel live. There are a lot of seagulls, morwennols and other sea birds.

In Murmansk Region there are such breeds of fishes, as cod, sea perch, halibut, catfish, flounder, herring. Lakes and the rivers are rich in valuable species of fish, such as: trout, salmon, whitefish, grayling, paliya, nelma, loach. There are much perch and pike.

Share:

Marina Kovtun

The governor of the Murmansk region

+7 (8152) 486-201

News

22.06.2017  17:33

Murmansk Region confirms the status of the region with favorable conditions for business development

Today, the Governor Marina Kovtun held a meeting of the Council on improving the investment climate in the Murmansk Region. The Head of the region recalled that in the National Investment Climate Rating for the constituent entities of the Russian Federation in 2016, the Murmansk Region rose by 20 points, improving its position to the 32nd place. For the third consecutive year, the region is included in the third group of regions, confirming the status of the region with favorable conditions for business development.

21.06.2017  17:35

Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs of the Murmansk Region holds a meeting with representatives of the business community of municipal entities of the town of Apatity and the town of Kirovsk

On June 23, 2017, in the Kolenergo Central electrical networks (2A Festivalnaya Street, the town of Apatity, the Murmansk Region), the Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs of the Murmansk Region (Regional Association of Employers) will meet with representatives of the business community of the municipal entities of the town of Apatity and the town of Kirovsk.

Clear form    
Clear form    

Other methods of communication

Ministry of Industry and Enterprise Development of the Murmansk region

© The Government of the Murmansk region, 2012-2014
Development «Key Partner IT», LLC
Версия для слабовидящих

География Мурманской области

Мурманская область – субъект Российской Федерации, образованный 28 мая 1938 года и расположенный на Северо-Западе Европейской части России. Входит в состав Северо-Западного федерального округа. Площадь Мурманской области составляет 144,9 тыс. кв. км (0,86% площади России), численность населения на 1 января 2013 года – 780,4 тыс. чел., плотность населения - 5,4 чел. на кв. км. Мурманская область относится к высокоурбанизированным регионам России (доля городского населения – 92,7 %). Здесь проживают коренные малочисленные народы Севера, среди которых самые многочисленные – саамы (по данным Всероссийской переписи населения 2010 года - 1,6 тыс. чел.).

По своему географическому положению Мурманская область является уникальным регионом. Расположена на Балтийском кристаллическом щите в Северной Европе, на Кольском, Рыбачьем и Среднем полуостровах. На западе граничит с Норвегией и Финляндией, на юге граничит с Республикой Карелия и через Белое море с Архангельской областью. Омывается Белым и Баренцевым морями. В состав региона входят острова: Айновские, Великий, Семь и Кильдин.

Такое георафическое положение поистине минералогическая сокровищница, не имеющая себе равных по разнообразию минералов и полезных ископаемых. Более 1000 минералов (1/3 от всех известных на Земле) открыто в её недрах. Более 150 из них не встречаются нигде больше.

Основные полезные ископаемые на территории области — апатит (Хибинские месторождения апатит-нефелиновых руд). Апатит — ценное сырьё для фосфорных удобрений — добываются на территории Мурманской области с довоенных времен, нефелин используется для выработки глинозёма — сырья для алюминиевой промышленности, получения соды и производства цемента. Во вторую очередь идут железные руды (около 10 % российской добычи) Оленегорского и Ковдорского месторождений. На Ковдорском месторождении также добывается апатит, руда циркония (бадделеит), слюда-флогопит и вермикулит (крупнейшие мировые запасы). Медно-никелевые руды Печенгской и Мончегорской группы месторождений дают стране помимо никеля и меди такие металлы как кобальт, платина, осмий, иридий и многие другие. Крупнейшие в стране запасы редкоземельных металлов сосредоточило в своих недрах уникальное Ловозерское месторождение. Практически неограниченные запасы алюминиевого сырья (кианитовые сланцы в Кейвах), граната-альмандина. Также в Кейвах имеются залежи бериллиевых и литиевых (почти 50% российских запасов) руд, редких металлов. Ведется добыча слюды-мусковита, пегматитов.

Многочисленны месторождения строительных горных пород, поделочных и полудрагоценных камней (аметист, хризолит, гранат, лунный камень «беломорит», амазонит, эвдиалит и др.). В последнее время отмечены находки алмазов.

Климат в южной части умеренно холодный, в северной — субарктический морской, смягчённый тёплым Северо-Атлантическим течением (северо-восточное продолжение Гольфстрима), это позволяет осуществлять судоходство круглый год. Зимой характерна полярная ночь, летом — полярный день. Средняя температура воздуха наиболее холодных месяцев (январь-февраль) составляет от −8 градусов на севере области (влияние теплого течения) до −12-15 градусов в центральных районах. Летом, соответственно, +8 градусов и +14 градусов. Минимальные температуры воздуха зимой составляют -35 градусов на побережье Баренцева моря, -45 на беломорском побережье и -55 в центральных районах. Летние максимумы, соответственно, +27, +32 и +33 градуса. Из-за высокой влажности воздуха и сильных ветров даже небольшие морозы переносятся крайне тяжело. Заморозки возможны в любой день лета, в июне нередки снегопады. На морском побережье и горных плато часты сильные ветры (в порывах до 55-60 м/с). Снег лежит в среднем с середины-конца октября до середины мая (в горных районах с конца сентября-начала октября до середины июня).

Вся территория Мурманской области относится к районам Крайнего Севера

В далёком прошлом Кольский полуостров был весь покрыт ледником, потом ледник сошёл, оставляя на земле глубокие царапины, поэтому в Мурманской области множество рек (Варзуга, Умба, Нива, Воронья, Кола, Тулома, самая длинная — река Поной) и озёр (Умбозеро, Ловозеро, самое большое по площади — Имандра). Имеются также небольшие реки, например Стрельна. Запасы вод не ограничены пресными внутренними водоёмами и морями, значительны запасы вод и в подземных пластах. Здесь более 110 тыс. озёр площадью более 10 га и 18 209 рек длиной более 100 м.

В регионе преобладают не представляющие на практике ценности подзолистые глеевые, подзолистые иллювиально-гумусовые и тундрово-глеевые почвы, на юге области встречаются подзолисто-болотные, а на западе площади болотных почв.

Практически вся Мурманская область покрыта тундрами и лесотундрами, лишь на юге области — северная тайга. Деревья на севере области часто карликовые (берёза и осина), хорошо растёт ель, встречается сосна, тундры устланы, как ковром, мхами и лишайниками, много ягод: черника, морошка, голубика, брусника и клюква. Значительны запасы деловой древесины, их величина избыточна для региона.

Животный мир довольно беден, причём водная фауна более разнообразна, чем наземная. Встречаются лисы, куницы, росомахи, горностаи, можно встретить песца, волка и бурого медведя, распространены лоси и северные олени, много белок и леммингов.

Из птиц здесь можно встретить белую куропатку, полярную сову, бывают тетерева и глухари, в лесах живут снегири, синицы, свиристели. Много чаек, крачек и другой морской птицы.

В Мурманской области промышляют такие породы рыб, как треска, морской окунь, палтус, зубатка, камбала, сельдь. Озера и реки богаты ценными видами рыб, такими как: форель, семга, сиг, хариус, палия, нельма, голец. В больших количествах водятся окунь, щука.

Поделиться:

Ковтун Марина Васильевна

Губернатор Мурманской области

+7 (8152) 486-201

Новости

21.09.2017  16:47

23 ноября 2017 года пройдёт III Российский экспортно-инвестиционный форум

23 ноября 2017 года в г. Москве, пройдёт III Российский экспортно-инвестиционный форум, организуемый Советом по развитию внешней торговли и международных экономических отношений при поддержке Министерства промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации, Комитета по экономической политике Совета Федерации Федерального собрания Российской Федерации, АО «Российский экспортный центр», Деловой России, Фонда развития моногородов.

20.09.2017  13:57

Министерством финансов Мурманской области проводится очередной конкурс творческих проектов «Бюджет для граждан»

В целях повышения финансовой грамотности населения и открытости бюджетного процесса в Мурманской области, обеспечения доступности для граждан информации об управлении общественными финансами сообщаем, что Министерством финансов Мурманской области проводится очередной конкурс творческих проектов «Бюджет для граждан».

Очистить форму    
Очистить форму    

Другие способы связи

Министерство развития промышленности и предпринимательства Мурманской области

Кузнецова Ольга Александровна

Министр

+7 (8152) 486-192

Костенко Олег Николаевич

Заместитель министра

+7 (8152) 486-192

Приемная

г.Мурманск, пр.Ленина, д.75

+7 (8152) 486-192

© Правительство Мурманской области, 2012-2014
Разработка ООО «Ки Партнер ИТ»
Версия для слабовидящих